QT: Hungry Tigers munch up Taipans for double glory

NORTHSIDERS captain Ashley McPaul conceded the situation was looking grim after all the rain and with the grounds originally being closed for play.

However, a change of decision to let the third division grand final proceed allowed the Tigers to complete a memorable season double – a one-day title and premiership in the same season.

After setting minor premiers Eastern Taipans 416 to win the previous weekend, Northsiders dismissed their opponents for 182 on Saturday afternoon.

Opening bowler Matt Brown snared 5-39 and Lee Treasure cleaned up the tail to deny the Taipans any chance of holding on with unsettled weather around.

McPaul said it took a mighty effort before the afternoon session to even get the game started.

“It didn’t look too good when the council shut the grounds down but overturned it, wisely I think,” McPaul said.

“We did a lot of work to get the field ready.”

That included more than four hours using hand rollers to soak up the water and an air blower to dry the pitch.

The players returned to the field at 2pm with Taipans at 3-98.

At about 4.30pm, the Tigers wrapped up Northsiders first premiership in that grade since 2010-11.

“It was a good double to get,” McPaul said, completing his second season as Northsiders captain.

“We weren’t probably expecting that at the start of the year but we played well most of the year.”

McPaul praised his teammates whom he described as “a lot of old fellas that have played a lot of cricket”.

“We turn up and compete each week and have a good time,” he said.

“Everyone takes responsiblity to do something to make sure we win the game.”

McPaul hopes the senior players return next season, helped by some younger talent coming through the club.

The Tigers captain rated Dean Claydon his man-of-the-match for scoring a valuable 46 on a soft pitch in the first innings and a half-century in the second. That included a match-winning partnership with century-maker Andrew Walsh.

The winning team was: Ashley McPaul, Troy Noe, Dean Claydon, Geoff Frieberg, Nick Feldon, Andrew Walsh, Matthew Brown, Lee Treasure, Scott Fryer, Bradley Snow, Cameron Beutel, Steven Stokes and Ed Denyer.

Author: Norths Cricket

Share This Post On